Luke Learns
Luke Learns
In Defense of Cover Bands
0:00
-9:45

In Defense of Cover Bands

In today’s episode I talk with professional cover band veteran Anna of Anna & The Deeper Well (also my wife) about the importance of covers and how they help us accomplish one of music’s most defining features: connecting with other people. I hope you enjoy it!

🪰 A Fly On The Wall

The internet is an amazing thing for so many reasons but one of my favorite reasons, from a learning perspective, is being able to be a fly on the wall while top performers share details of their process and work. There are so many good example to pick from but I recently came across this video of Billie Eilish’s producer (and brother) Finneas explaining the way that he approaches making music. It’s a touch on the technical side but fascinating to think that these homeschooled siblings who record in their bedroom studio can make hugely popular music. I also liked this interview which shows their family’s crazy LA bungalow with upright pianos everywhere and shows more of what life was like for them growing up. Love to see another family making songs together.

Thanks reading and catch you next week 🏄‍♂️ ✌️.

0 Comments
Luke Learns
Luke Learns
I write about my life and learnings as a family man, software consultant, musician and wannabe farmer.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Luke Moderwell
Recent Episodes