Luke Learns
Luke Learns
The Birth of a Song
1
0:00
-18:13

The Birth of a Song

1

Song Stories: Mr. Golden Son

Working out the verse melody and arrangement early on.

Anna and I just finished recording a new song. More often than not songs have a journey associated with them and this one is no exception. I recorded a short oral history where I play back some of the earliest demos of the song (four years old!) and take you through the decisions we made to eventually get to a final mix.

Recording some backing guitar in the “studio” AKA our basement. .

I want to tell the story of how this song came to be partly because I like the way it turned out but also to remind myself that there is a lot of work that goes into making something from nothing. When I get impatient with future songs, I’ll be able to look back and be reminded to stay the course.

This audio format is new and experimental so please drop a comment letting us know what you think.

Thank you for listening,

Luke + Anna

1 Comment
Luke Learns
Luke Learns
I write about my life and learnings as a family man, software consultant, musician and wannabe farmer.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Luke Moderwell
Recent Episodes